Picture
A couple of years ago I stumbled upon a documentary on TV about the Northern Lights in Norway. It followed a lady around as she travelled all around Norway in the middle of winter trying to find the elusive lights. I could not get over how amazing the country looked, and from that night I was hooked on Norway. I kept telling everyone how much I wanted to visit and how much it interested me but most people thought I was crazy, with most responses being ‘How do you know, you’ve never been there.’




Picture
On the train from Trondheim to Olso.
I guess you could say that is a logical question, but I knew I would love Norway. I kept telling myself that I would go there one day in the future, but at work one day I had the realisation that I could go there in a matter of months if I put my head down and actually saved my money. So that is exactly what I did. I stuck to a strict budget, and a few weeks later I had booked tickets to Norway.
Picture
View over some of the snowy suburbs of Oslo.
As soon as I got to Norway it was exactly how I imagined and even better. It was the middle of winter, everything was covered in snow which made everything look awesome. I loved hearing the language, seeing how people lived, and getting to see how amazing the scenery is in Norway. Catching trains from one city to another going through snowy mountains and past frozen rivers, flying over fjords and glaciers, I could not believe that I was actually there. It was such a different place to Australia and I think that is one of the reasons I loved it so much. 

 
Picture
Bryggen Wharf in Bergen.
I plan to go back and visit next year sometime, maybe in summer to see the contrast between winter and summer, although I would also like to go back in winter to try and catch the Northern Lights again as I missed them last time. All I can say is, Norway, You will definitely be seeing me again in the future.  
Picture
I love Winter.



Leave a Reply.